1. Home
  2. Italy
  3. Aosta Valley

The Aosta Valley (Italian: Valle d'Aosta or Val d'Aosta, French: Vallée d'Aoste or Val d'Aoste, Arpitan: Val d'Outa) is a mountainous semi-autonomous region in northwestern Italy. It is bordered by Rhône-Alpes, France to the west, Valais, Switzerland to the north and the region of Piedmont to the south and east.With an area of 3,263 km2 and a population of about 126,933, it is the smallest, least populous, and least densely populated region of Italy. It is the only Italian region which has no provinces. Provincial administrative functions are provided by the regional government. The region is divided into 74 comuni.Italian and French are both official, though the native population speaks also Valdôtain, a form of Franco-Provençal, as home language. In 2001, 96.01% of the Valdostan population reported knowing Italian, 75.41% French, 55.77% the Valdostan Franco-Provençal patois, and 50.53% all of them.The regional capital is Aosta.

Cities to visit in Aosta Valley

Discover the main cities in Aosta Valley and find your next travel destination

Trova il modo migliore per arrivare in Valle d'Aosta

Sei pronto a partire? Trova le migliori offerte per treni e voli diretti in Valle d'Aosta

Stazioni principali
Why choose Wanderio?

Save time: book flights, trains, buses and taxi in just one search

Best price guarantee: find cheap tickets and last minute deals

Need for help? Our support team is always at your disposal

Area3263.0 km2

Connections to Aosta Valley